Korea University School of Law

  • Korea University
  • KU Library
  • Sitemap
  • 한국어

Republic of Korea, Korea University, and Law

Korea’s finest legal education and research
conducting, contributing to the development of world legal culture

In 1905, Yong-Ick Lee (李容翊) founded two-year Bosung College based on the idea of saving the nation through education. Bosung College was initially comprised of two departments: Specialized Study on Law and Specialized Study on Economy. This was the first establishment of higher education for Law major. Inchon (仁村) Sung-Soo KIM (金性洙), who had dreamed of a “university established by the people” took over the management of the College in 1932. After the liberation from Japanese occupation in 1945, the College changed its name to ‘Korea University’ on October 15, 1946. After the implementation of the law school system, Korea University School of Law was established in March 2009.

The main graduate school programs offered in the field of law at Korea University are:

  • “School of Law” (legal type: specialized graduate school): Juris Doctor Program for a duration of 6 semesters (3 years). Graduates upon passing the bar exam go on to pursue professions as judges, public prosecutors, and attorneys. The Doctor of Juridical Science (S.J.D.) program and Diplomas are also offered.
  • “Graduate school Department of Law” (legal type: general graduate school): The main educational purpose of which is to learn basic legal theories and to conduct advanced academic research. Master (4 semesters) and doctoral (4 semesters) programs are offered.
  • “Graduate school of legal studies” (legal type: special graduate school): A 5-semester (2.5 years) master program with evening courses for working professionals.


갤러리 더보기