Korea University School of Law

  • Korea University
  • KU Library
  • Sitemap
  • 한국어


Korea University trailblazed in opening the door to modern legal education with innovative ideas and tireless efforts.
Korea University

Bosung College Specialized in Law Department, the first institution of higher education for law

1. The Founding of Bosung College :

In 1905, when Korea saw its national sovereignty decline, Lee Yong-Ick founded two-year Bosung College based on the idea of saving the nation through education. Bosung College was comprised of two departments: Specialized Department of Law (current College of Law) and Specialized Department of Economy (current Department of Business Administration and Department of Economics). This was the first establishment of higher education for law majors.

2. Management of Bosung College by Cheondogyo :

After surrendering sovereignty in 1910, Bosung College found itself in a state of total devastation. In December 1910, Cheondogyo (religious leader: Son Byung Hee) took over the management of Bosung College. In June 1914, a new school building (a two-story western-style building of around 350m2, and an annex of around 100m2) was built on one side of the schoolyard, and an inauguration ceremony was held on October 31. Cheondogyo was able to financially support Bosung College thanks to Seong Mi(誠米: saving a spoonful of rice during every meal time) performed by three million believers of Cheondogyo nationwide. The power of the people had saved Bosung College.

3. Inchon’s taking over of the management and revival of the College :

Inchon (仁村) Kim Sung Soo (金性洙), who had dreamed of a “university established by the people” took over the management of the College in 1932. From then on, Bosung College began pursuing a distinct vision, initiating the construction of the Main Building in Anam-dong from 1933 to 1934. Upon its completion of which the campus was moved from Jongno to Anam on September 28, thereby ushering in the era of Anam Campus.

Korea University College of Law, leading the development of constitutionalism in Korea

1. A new name, ‘Korea University’ :

After the liberation from Japanese occupation in 1945, the College changed its name to ‘Korea University’ on October 15, 1946. Back then in 1946, the educational organization of KU consisted of the College of Political Science and Law (Department of Jurisprudence, Department of Political Science), the College of Economics and Commercial Science (Department of Economics, Department of Commercial Science), and the College of Liberal Arts (Department of Korean Literature, Department of English Literature, Department of Philosophy, Department of History). With the establishment of a graduate program in September 1949, KU built a system through which knowledge can be effectively passed down.

2. Restructuring of College of Law :

In 1955, when KU celebrated its 50th anniversary, President Yoo Jin-Oh carried out extensive restructuring efforts with regard to the educational organization, abolishing the College of Political Science and Law and newly establishing the College of Law. The Department of Jurisprudence was renamed the Department of Law, and the Department of Administration was newly established and affiliated to the College of Law.

3. College of Law as mono-disciplinary department :

As the Department of Administration was transferred to College of Politics and Economics in 1983, the College of Law became mono-disciplinary, with the Department of Law being the sole affiliation.

KU Law School, leading the legal culture of the world in the age of innovation for civilization

After the implementation of the law school system, KU Law School was established in March 2009. According to relevant legislation, the College of Law was abolished on February 28, 2018, and the Law School began to play a pivotal role in legal education.